“I only had my phone with me”


A recent quote from David duChemin is indeed something that has been on my mind for a while now. He says and I quote “What we lack is not better cameras but better photographers”. I so agree with that statement. Lately I have been seeing a lot of posts from people saying “oh look at this or look at that but I only had my phone with me”…
 
Really? You only had your phone with you? So it is not good enough?
 
No I believe your phone is a perfectly good camera. It is you who is doubting the capabilities of yourself or the camera. The camera is only a tool to achieve an end result. I can drive a nail in to a piece of wood with a $5 hammer from a dollar store or a $50 hammer from Home Depot.
 
I have literally taken 1000’s of images with my phone(s). Maybe I can’t print them wall size, but that would not be the purpose anyway. The purpose is to capture the moment.
 
Another favourite quote of mine is “It’s not the camera you have, it is the camera you have with you.”
 
Don’t let the type of camera you have stop you from creating. Don’t see with your camera, see with your eyes.
 
Image shot on my iPhone from a moving car (passenger seat)
Leave a Reply

