Yawning Tiger…Sleeping Beauty? :)


I am back in Aurangabad after a non-stop, whirlwind weekend of 4 flights, and 2 – 2+ hour drives on less than ideal roads. My destination was Pench National Park. I stayed in a lodge overnight on Saturday and did 2 – 2.5 hour safari’s with a very knowledgeable guide and naturalist. This park, and from what I have been told, all of India’s national parks, is under heavy guard to prevent poaching. One thing India values highly, other than perhaps its cricket matches, is its wildlife, especially its tigers. These guys are Bengal tigers, and are quite elusive. To see one is considered pretty lucky. I saw 2 on my Saturday afternoon safari. The first one was belly up, about 100 meters away in tall grass, catching some zzzzz’s in the 43 C degree heat. I have a couple of shots of him, but all you can see is 1 paw and part of his side. This guy however was about the same distance away, but laying down in a small pool of water to keep cool. I kept focused on him and caught him in mid yawn! What big teeth you have Mr. Tiger…all the better to chomp you my dear!

YawningTiger_1088

4 thoughts on “Yawning Tiger…Sleeping Beauty? :)

Leave a Reply

