Life Through The Lens – Part II – November 9 Image


In an effort to promote not only the area I live in but the province of Ontario and Canada itself, from time to time I am going to be visiting communities far and wide and capturing images from that community. 

For a very long time now I have wondered why Canada and all of its provinces don’t do much to promote themselves. Yes we see ads from time to time and web sites dedicated to promoting this area or that. But when I visit places in Canada the tourists I see are almost always non Canadian. On one hand this is of course good for Canada as we are inviting and open to people visiting from all parts of the world. On the other hand though is Canadians themselves are not exploring their own backyard. Why is that? Are we so brainwashed by going to someplace warm in January or February to escape the harsh Canadian winters? But what about the rest of the year? What stops us from visiting other areas? Is it cost? Yes domestic air travel in Canada is expensive. Travel by car, while being easy with a good road system, is difficult time wise due to the sheer size of our provinces and country. Rail travel, unlike Europe is pretty much unused in Canada. Maybe there is no easy answer to this. Maybe people simply don’t want to get out there. They are happy staying around their own area and occasionally visiting a nearby town or city. 

I want to change that. I can’t do it all by myself of course. There for I am going to dust off a project I started a few years back called “Imagine” and bring those images back to life. All of the images in that project will be from Canada exclusively. I want people to see those images and think “Imagine if I was standing in that very spot”. I want people to go “wow I need to go and visit that place”. 

Some of those images will be posted on my blog from time to time and new images will be added to that project all of the time. I have lots of visitors from all over the globe to my blog and in addition to those from Canada, I also hope the images will inspire those from other parts of the world to visit. 

Come on Canadians, get out there and enjoy this magnificent country you live in! Explore, hike, drive, and take pictures, but most of all breathe! Breathe in the unforgettable beauty of Canada and all it has to offer. 

Today I visited Caledonia, which is part of Haldimand County. Caledonia is situated right on the Grand River. This image is of the Toll House which is the oldest building still standing in Caledonia. It is Circa 1875 and was built for the collector of tolls from people crossing the Grand River. 

The Toll House

 

2 thoughts on “Life Through The Lens – Part II – November 9 Image

  1. Craig, your great photographic images always send me, send us, to places far away as well as deep within ourselves. As you may know, I’m an amateur photographer besides being a fiction writer. With regard to rail travel — whether intrastate, interstate or, in the case of my country and Canada, international — I find that riding the rails for or during vacation is suffering from LOWOM (lack of word of mouth). I say this because, when I describe to family and friends who rarely travel by or never have traveled by rail long distance (I’m not referring to commuting to work by subway, of course), how comfortable it is and how gorgeous the mobile paintings of nature are beyond the train windows, each one of them tells me some version of “Oh, I’ve got to take the train to Montreal in [insert name of city or country here].” On the North American continent alone and within the past six years, I’ve ridden, and written stories and poetry inside, many Amtrak trains between New York and Montreal and several VIA Rail trains between Montreal and Quebec City. … My first long-distance rail journey, however, was at age 3, to Savannah, Georgia, to vacation with relatives. Now *that* train was, I seem to recall, a steam train or diesel train, and it had velvet seating in a rich, dark green! I remember the train’s whistle and how my mother — since my dad always seemed to be working whenever we vacationed — had to lift me as high as a neighborhood swing to deliver me to the hot Savannah pavement. … I will continue to promote rail travel by word of mouth and through my literary works. There’s something about rolling or speeding along the tracks, and close enough to nature and to towns and townspeople, so that your eyes capture, like a camera lens, the changes in colors and emotion en route to your destination. And it’s wonderful not to have a destination sometimes, since taking a rail journey is a rich experience in and of itself.

    • Thank you Chantale! Together we can promote our countries and rail travel as a spectacular way to immerse yourself in the beautiful sights and scenery along your journey! I look forward to reading more of your stories and seeing images from your journey’s! 🙂

Leave a Reply

